Chronicle Books Around the World in 80 Trees

$24.95
Quantity
Choose a shipping method

Join the co-op today and get back an estimated $2.50 on this item.

In Around the World in 80 Trees, author Jonathan Drori uses plant science to illuminate how trees play a role in every part of human life, from the romantic to the regrettable.

  • Features

    • Bestselling author and environmentalist Jonathan Drori follows in the footsteps of Phileas Fogg as he tells the stories of 80 magnificent trees from all over the globe
    • The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail—there should be surprises for everyone

    Imported.

    From the publisher: From the trees of Britain, to India's sacred banyan tree, they offer us sanctuary and inspiration—not to mention the raw materials for everything from aspirin to maple syrup.

    Stops on the trip include the lime trees of Berlin's Unter den Linden boulevard, which intoxicate amorous Germans and hungry bees alike, the swankiest streets in nineteenth-century London, which were paved with Australian eucalyptus wood, and the redwood forests of California, where the secret to the trees' soaring heights can be found in the properties of the tiniest drops of water.

    Each of these strange and true tales—populated by self-mummifying monks, tree-climbing goats and ever-so-slightly radioactive nuts—is illustrated by Lucille Clerc, taking the reader on a journey that is as informative as it is beautiful.

    Perfect for fans of Peter Wohlleben's The Hidden Life of Trees, this new book will certainly whet the appetite of any tree lover to take an around-the-world trip, or simply visit their local botanic garden.
    View all Chronicle Books Non-Fictional Adventures
  • Technical Specs

    Best Use

    Casual

    Dimensions

    9.5 x 6.38 x 1.13 inches

    Author(s)

    Jonathan Drori; illustrator: Lucille Clerc

    Number of Pages

    240

    Format

    Hardcover

    ISBN-13

    9781786271617

    Publisher

    Chronicle Books

    Copyright Year

    2018

  • Reviews

    Loading Reviews...
  • Questions & Answers

    Loading Questions...