cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

How to get over rock climbing shoes rubbing against the ankle back?

I just bought new shoes, this will be my 2nd pair. I've been climbing for about 6-7 months and all this time I have climbed with socks. I never was interested in not using socks because I was not willing to sacrifice the comfort of socks just to be in pain from the shoes. It has gotten to the point where I need to stop wearing socks while I climb. But for me, the toughest part of breaking in new shoes is the tightness and the rubbing on the back of the ankle (where the Achilles is). In my opinion, it is the most unbearable feeling in the world and I can't climb half a belay route without complaining about the back of my ankles. What can I do to get over this pain so I can move on?

0 Likes
3 Replies

Tape the affected area.  There is some break in tie required for new shoes.  of course, by that time they may not be useful for really exacting climbs...

Superusers do not speak on behalf of REI and may have received
one or more gifts or other benefits from the co-op.
0 Likes

@Fencho