BLACK

SmartWool Microweight Boxer Briefs - Wool - Men's

The SmartWool Microweight Boxer briefs for men offer an easy fit and high comfort in warm or cool weather.
  • $48.00

Item # 834634

REI Members get back an estimated $4.80 on this item as part of their annual member refund.

The REI Member Dividend

The REI dividend is a unique benefit of membership in the REI co-op. It's comprised of your member refund—typically 10% back on eligible purchases—and/or your REI Visa® card rebates.

Each March, active REI members and REI Visa cardholders who earned a rebate receive a refund in the form of an annual dividend notice.

Only active members receive annual dividend notices. To maintain your active status as an REI member, you need to make net merchandise or shipping purchases of at least $10 per year, unless you joined that year. Member numbers are issued in one name and only that person receives the member refund. Your number can be used by others in your family, but it cannot be transferred to someone else.

Questions? Call us at 1-800-426-4840 for more about your dividend or its redemption.

Learn more

Product size and color

This item ships for free! Learn more.

  • details
  • specs
  • reviews
  • q & a
  • Jersey-knit, fine merino wool helps maintain a comfortable temperature whether the day is hot, cold or in between
  • SmartWool items are guaranteed not to itch and can be repeatedly washed and dried without shrinking
  • Covered elastic waistband prevents chafing; chafe-free flatlock seams increase comfort
  • Briefs feature a traditional front fly and a natural rise
  • The SmartWool Microweight Boxer briefs feature easy care: machine wash and dry on cool temperature setting

Imported.

SmartWool Microweight Boxer Briefs - Wool - Men's

Specification Description
Best use Backpacking
Fabric type Wool / wool blend
Fabric 96% merino wool/4% spandex
Moisture wicking Yes
Quick drying Yes
Inseam (in.) 4.75 inches
Gender Men's

SmartWool Microweight Boxer Briefs - Wool - Men's

Loading Ratings & Reviews...

Rated 4out of5
by fromGreat comfort a little too expensive Very comfortable, great for hiking.
Date published: 2013-07-25
Rated 5out of5
by fromGreat briefs - Very pleased with these briefs. They are comfortable, breathe well and dry fast. I'm getting a few more pair.
Date published: 2012-08-05
Rated 5out of5
by fromthis product kicks it this product is good
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 1out of5
by fromComfortable, a bit... loose, and ITCHY! I bought these since the reviews said the wool wouldn't itch. They arrived today and I put them on and went for a walk. Ten minutes later I had to return because while they comfortable, and don't "feel" like wool, they certainly are itchy! Not horribly, but enough to be uncomfortable and not wear them again. Waste of $50.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 4out of5
by fromWool briefs These are very nice, they are also very expensive. I love them and wear them all year round. They are great for camping as they don't seem to smell bad and breath well. There is also some new research which suggests that wool breifs help to keep your lower back muscles warm and thus help ease lower back pain. Try em and see for yourself
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 4out of5
by fromNice Briefs I actually really like these briefs, although I found the fit a little on a big side. I'm 5'11" - 185, 34'ish size waist. Went with the large. The fit was OK, but a little on the loose side on my thighs. After a day of hiking they were a little saggy and bunched up a bit. Purchased a second pair in medium and the fit was perfect. A little tighter, more of a compression type fit and felt a lot more 'secure'.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 4out of5
by fromGreat for cycling too. I bicycle toured over 2000 miles with two pair of these. The wool doesn't chafe when it's wet from inclement weather, or perspiration; it cools on warm days, and provides warmth on cool days. If you're not needing padding and tight fitting spandex while in the saddle, but are concerned about chafing on longer rides. I highly recommend these. Even when I'm not touring, I'll wear them on rides longer 30 miles or so. One durability issue that came up; the waistband has started to separate on one of the two pair I purchased. Though they do have a lot of miles and a lot of washes/rinses on them, I wasn't happy to see this happen. Had this not occurred, I would have given these shorts 5 stars for comfort; in this regard, they're the best I've ever tried.
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5out of5
by fromThe best I've tried I hesitated to buy these for a long time because of the price, but I'm glad I finally tried them. These are the most comfortable and best performing boxer briefs I've ever worn. If you're a boxer briefs loyalist as I am (see also: Louis CK's enlightened commentary on the subject), then you'll know how important heat and moisture management is. These are the best. They may not be as heavy duty as NFL-style plastic-fiber boxer briefs are, so they may not last as long. Who cares, though? I'll take profound comfort and learn to live with purchasing new underwear a little more often.
Date published: 2012-09-14

Ask a question and have it answered by REI product experts and fellow outdoor enthusiasts. Need immediate assistance? Use Live Help .

Loading Questions & Answers...