cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

womens plus size Backpacking

I am a plus size girl - and I am just getting into Backpacking. Any suggestions on backpacking sleeping bags for larger side sleepers? Thanks Everyone!

Labels (2)
8 Replies

I don't have any personal experience but I would look at the NEMO sleeping bags since they tend to be more generously shaped.  Some Big Agnes bags may also suite although don't be fooled by the brand name. 

The only bag that the REI site search currently finds as XWide is this ...  although I would double check the quoted measurements.  I could not easily confirm it.

https://www.rei.com/product/144323/marmot-trestles-elite-eco-20-sleeping-bag-womens

You also may want to consider a backpacking quilt such as made by Enlightened Equipment or UGO which can be ordered up to  XWide and various lengths.  These usually need to be custom ordered and that can take a while but you can get the warmth and size you need subject to their maximums.

https://enlightenedequipment.com/revelation-custom/

https://ugqoutdoor.com/top-quilts/xl-bandit/

You will have to test your required measurements against their recommendations to see what width would work best or if you need to look elsewhere.  Quilts are not for everyone but many find they work better than traditional sleeping bags for 3 season use.