cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Standup Paddleboard recommendation

I am interested in purchasing a Standup Paddleboard.  I have never owned one.  I've had limited experience with paddleboards.  I have researched on the internet so I have some knowledge about paddleboards.

I live on a lake and will use the board there.  Since transportation and storage are not options, I want a solid board rather than inflatable.

I will use the board to tour the lake and get exercise. 

About me:  I am a very active 66 year old.  I am 5'11" tall and weigh 185 pounds.

Based on this, do you recommend one or several boards that will work for me?

Jim Reckinger

0 Likes
3 Replies

Hi @jimreck

We appreciate you reaching out to the community!  Exciting to hear that you are looking to purchase a paddle board!

I‘ll start by confirming something you may have read while researching the products. Similar to other watercraft, a lot of the stability comes from the construction of the board. I would suggest a board that is slightly wider and longer. Although I’m only 5’4”, I always felt most comfortable on a board that was no shorter than 11’.

This board is similar to the one I got my start on!  What’s great about it is the versatility.  While it will perform no problem on flat water, it can also handle light ocean touring. 

I’m sure my colleague @REI-JohnJ would love to add his voice to this topic as well! This is an activity he enjoys quite a bit!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.
0 Likes

@jimreck Thanks for reaching out!