cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
REI is actively reviewing its policies and procedures per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's new guidance for COVID-19.
As we have since the start of the pandemic, we’ll continue to prioritize the health and safety of our employees, customers and communities.

Advice on a SUP Inflatable Paddle Board

Hi, I am 5'2, 150 lbs. and I am looking to purchase an inflatable SUP paddle board.  I am a little confused on where to start.  I will be using it for mostly lake usage to paddle out and do some fishing/yoga/just exploring.  I will also have my 9 yr old son using it with and a Labrador retriever expected to be 60-80 lbs.  I'm not sure if I need three fins vs. one and I am a beginner so I want to make sure I have a good board for balance and maneuver.  I was curious if I could get some recommendations on size and features that would best fit me.  Thank you! 

0 Likes
2 Replies

Hey there @Alli!

Thanks for reaching out to the Community with this question!  SUP's can be so much fun and with lots of options it can be hard narrowing it down.

I think this article about How to Choose a Stand Up Paddleboard is a great place to start!  Many of your questions will be answered there.  As you mentioned, weight capacity is definitely a consideration, not to mention stability as you add kids and a pup to the mix.

As you begin to look through the information and weigh your inflatable paddleboard  options, please reach out to us with additional questions.  In addition I am going to tag our resident SUP enthusiast, @REI-JohnJ, so that he can add his personal recommendations in this arena! 

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.

@Alli Thanks for joining the community!