cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
REI is actively reviewing its policies and procedures per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's new guidance for COVID-19.
As we have since the start of the pandemic, we’ll continue to prioritize the health and safety of our employees, customers and communities.

Re: Advice for spring and fall kayaking clothing

I am a beginner kayaker paddling on lakes in the Northeastern US seeking recommendations on clothing:  wetsuits, jackets, etc.

0 Likes
5 Replies

Hi @Sluggo92 - Thanks for reaching out. It's great to hear that you're getting into kayaking!

What you wear while kayaking depends a lot on the weather, water temperature, and how you plan on interacting with the water. For an overview of different options and when to choose them, we suggest taking a look at our Expert Advice article titled What to Wear Kayaking: Layering Tips

Because there are so many variables to what a day out kayaking can look like, it'd be helpful to get some more information to be able to give you well-suited recommendations. Are you planning on ever getting in and out of the water while out kayaking or will you plan to stay in your boat at all times? Will the lakes be fed by snow run-off in the spring? Answers to these questions will impact whether you are looking for wetsuits/rashgaurds or other less technical clothing options. 

In all circumstances, you will want to make sure that your layers are synthetic. Once cotton is wet, it will stay that way for a long time. Another good all-around tip is to always have sunglasses with you. Even if it doesn't seem too sunny while you're on land, the glare of the water can have a big impact and sunglasses will help with visibility.

Hopefully this is a good start! 

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.
0 Likes