cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Seeking advice on prepping for Van Life

My wife and I have been saving up for a couple years now, and are getting to a point to where we can start looking at vans, and take a leap into living full time on the road for at least a year (hopefully longer with remote work). Any tips on getting started?

4 Replies

Check out https://expeditionportal.com/.  Lots of great info.

Hi @alex27 The hard part about Vanlife - or any radical lifestyle change - is deciding two things. 1) That you are going to do it. Once you decide Yes, I am going to do this, there are few obstacles that can really stop you. It is easy to fall into the trap I call the "I don't have's..."  I don't have the Time, money, skills... All of those things can be worked around. The hard part is saying, Yes, I'm going to do this. 2) You can't listen to people saying you can't do this. If you and your wife want to spend a year on the road, don't let someone tell you no. They are answering for their own reasons. Have a great adventure, and come back and tell us all about it!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.

@alex27 adding the Live Small Ride Free blog!

0 Likes

@alex27 You two are about to have SO much fun! 

Even if you're used to having quite a bit more space at home, living in a van is not as crazy or difficult as it may seem. The challenges (yes, there will be some) will quickly be outshined by opportunities you'll find to discover and explore amazing places and meet great people.