cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Tips for a newbie runner

My name is Mubarak Abdulhakim AKA kim from west Africa, I'm new to the world of running and I think I'll need some friends or coach who will help boost me up with some tips. 

By next month my country is hosting an international marathon of 22kilomiter and I have picture my self in the 1st, 2nd or 3rd position, how greedy I know lol. But I really Need to participate. 

Thank you, I'll be looking  forward to a positive feed back. XD

3 Replies

Tips for a newbie runner

@KIM007 welcome to our community - it's quite likely you are our first member from West Africa, and we are thrilled to have you here!

We anticipate others will provide tips as well, but figured we'd point you to a few resources in the meantime:

We hope this gets you started, and anticipate you'll get additional great advice and encouragement from other members of our community!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.

Tips for a newbie runner

Hi @KIM007!

The Expert Advice articles @REI-JenK shared are really great starting points on your running journey! 22km is just over the traditional half-marathon distance of 21km. Therefore, I'd suggest looking for training plans and tips for running your first marathon.

In the US, one of the most popular training plans for newcomers to distance racing are those written by a man named Hal Higdon. He's written many books and articles on marathon and half-marathon running geared toward newer runners. His website features several half-marathon training plans for free. You can choose one based on how many miles you like to run, and your current running base, or how many kilometers you're running right now.