cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

What camera should I use while kayaking?

I want to be able to take short videos and still shots when I am out on my kayak. Sometimes I won't be able to use my hands so I think about a Go Pro and don't know anything about them. I am just beginning and want something simple. It has to be waterproof. I want to be able to take pictures of eagles in flight and perched. Also short videos as I go through a rapid. I kayak on streams and rivers but no real whitewater.

Any suggestions  about cameras or whom to talk to?

6 Replies

Hey @StevenF - Thanks for bringing this question to the community!

GoPros are great for being able to attach to you/your boat with all of the mounting accessories available. One thing that comes to mind with them is the type of zooming they can do. While the Hero8 and Hero9 do have the ability to zoom, it is a digital zoom vs an optical zoom, so the photo quality will be lessened when using it. With this, it would be harder to get sharp photos of eagles in flight unless they were quite small in the frame. GoPros are more known for point of view/wide angle photos and videos and that is where you will see their best results. If a higher quality zoom is not a concern, GoPro could be a great option, especially with their stabilization features, which would allow for smoother videos while going down the river.

For waterproof cameras with an optical zoom (meaning the lens itself shifts to keep quality high), my suggestions would be the following:

There are other folks here in the community who have photographed while on their kayaks too. Hopefully some of them can weigh in with their recommendations!