cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

suggestions for carrying camera gear in the backcountry?

So I am an outdoor wildlife photographer. For a long time, going outside and taking pics of wildlife is something I've done, but I've gotten more serious about it lately. This poses a problem of carrying photography gear around with me in the backcountry. 

I'm trying to figure out the best solution for carrying around a mirrorless body + 3-4 lens while protecting them against rain & impact. But still gotta carry hiking & camping gear as well. 

Any suggestions for a good, lightweight way to do this?

11 Replies

Hey Angie! 

I don’t know what would be a good way to carry that but I’m interested in finding out! I’ve been looking for a new way to carry camera equipment!

I suggest taking a look at Think Tank Photo as they have a number of different products that might work even if my particular solution doesn't.  I've been using their Digital Holster with my full frame DSLR over the past 7 years for both day hiking and multi-day backpacking trips and have been able to adapt it to carry with all the different backpacks I've used.  For me the holster works well as it is easily accessible on the trail, well cushioned, and has a rain cover (which has kept my camera dry in several downpours).  These photos show how I carry it with my Osprey Aether AG 70.

E2_ohwgX0AMJGDd.jpeg

E2_ohwgXoAcjyyo.jpeg

E2_ohwgXIAUZkKY.jpeg

Get outdoors, stay safe, and happy trails!
Todd the Hiker