cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Re: Let's Identify Plants - Native and Non

Hi friends,

I've been hiking in and around Los Angeles for a few years now, and I recently realized I don't know the names of most of the plants I see. I'd love to be more educated.

What's the best book for identifying both native and non-native plants? I'd like to have a reference guide at home and maybe something I can even take into the field.

I'll also take recommendations on plant-identifying apps. In my experience, most apps don't work that great - especially if you're deep in the San Gabriels and don't have any cell service. That's why I prefer books but always happy to learn more!

0 Likes
9 Replies

Following 

0 Likes

I started by trying to use books to identify plants but have found that the species of a plant can have difference based on the location of where you are viewing the plant.   There are variences in the leaves from one geographical location to the next that the when I tried to identify the plant in a book I was uncertain.  Two years ago I joined the local Native Plant Society (SCNPS), started taking botany classes and it has made it much easier for me.  Good Luck with your identification process.

Tom (TBSS)

0 Likes