cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
REI is actively reviewing its policies and procedures per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's new guidance for COVID-19.
As we have since the start of the pandemic, we’ll continue to prioritize the health and safety of our employees, customers and communities.

Newbie here in Chicago suburbs

Hey there, I am so excited to be here!  My name is Robin and I am just starting to train for my first overnight backpacking trip.  I want to mostly absorb trip tips, like packing, water/food amounts, “what if’s,” etc.  I am exploring the conversations part of the app, so don’t be too hard on me if I post something that belongs elsewhere.  🙂  I appreciate your experience and advice, and hopefully friendships to come!

10 Replies

@Spicyboo88 hey, and welcome! We definitely won't be too hard on you for posting stuff in random places - you figured this "Introduce Yourself" section out perfectly already!

Stoked to hear you're planning your first backpacking trip - any idea where you're headed?! We've got lots of avid backpackers in the community (tons of good info on the Backpacking board) AND we've got some Chicago-area folks as well - @Dad_Aint_Hip @SILHiker @Bonfire @Keeys @charrig - you might also check out our Chicago board.

Look forward to hearing your advice, suggestions and questions!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.