cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Howdy from Georgia!

Hi y'all! I'm a newbie who'd been wanting to get into camping for years but always managed to procrastinate it. Went with a friend recently for the first time since I was a kid and hot dang do I love it. I'm still green but I've been researching and stocking up on backpacking gear, too, so I can work my way up from car camping to some of the backcountry campsites they have in our rad state parks. I'm in... lackluster physical shape coming out of 2020 but I'm excited to learn and grow and challenge myself!

4 Replies

Hi @Icewright - Welcome to the community!

It’s so great that you have discovered a love of camping. This is an amazing place for you to read up on answers from other people’s questions as well as ask your own. There are many other community members who enjoy sharing their suggestions, stories and expertise on camping, backpacking, and more. You are on a solid path starting with smaller car camping trips and working up to longer backcountry plans. We hope this can be a valuable part of your learning experience!

Thanks for taking the time to introduce yourself. We’re happy to have you here!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.

Thank you for the warm welcome!

Hey! I don't know where you are in Georgia... I'm just across the state line in Florida and have relatives all over the state. You're right, y'all do have some great state parks! We have a few great places too, if you like flatlands, swamp, marsh.