cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Hello from VA! I'm planning a section hike on the AT

Hi, Russ near Williamsburg, VA.  I will attempt, for the third time to plan a section hike on, partially, the AT. I'm combining it with the Virginia Creeper Trail. As both cross in Damascus, VA that part of planning is easy. It's a combination route; south to the first shelter in Tennessee, Abington Gap, back through Damascus and up to Mt. Rogers and Turner Knob shelter. Reverse direction back to Damascus to pick up the Creeper Trail. Somewhat about 110 miles total.

The first issue is waiting for my COVID vaccines. I won't register with ATC for a section untill I have the my shots. Gear isn't a major issue as I have been hiking since I retired 6 years ago. Just need a few bits an pieces.

The greatest impediment is convincing family that I need to do this. Two weeks roaming the mountains alone doesn't sit well with them. The fact that I want to go for my 72nd birthday plays into the equation as well. I would imagine some of you folks in my age group go through that from time to time. I go out locally weekly, 10 to 12  miles is an average but the terrain here is a bit flatter.

There it is, the start of adventure planning in what some would call my "golden years". Not sure where the gold is buried😎. I can't see sitting about rotting away watching tv and obsessing over the issues of the day

Have fun outside, stay safe. Treat your fellow human as you would want to be treated

Russ

Toano, Va

5 Replies