cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Re: Hello from Ohio

Hello,

My name is Stephen and have been a member since 2015. I am an avid Subaru owner and love the outdoors. Some of the outdoor things I enjoy are rock climbing, hiking, backpacking, snowboarding, kayaking, and well pretty much anything that gets me outside. Growing up I enjoyed the outdoors but it wasn't until college when it all started to piece together my love for the outdoors. I studied engineering and my statics professor took us out for a day of hiking. Our class met up at Cuyahoga Valley National Park and we hiked for a few hours. The professor was adamant about getting outdoors to learn from it and respect it while also using it as a tool to calm our minds/body. Since that day the outdoors has been my therapy! My wife and I have backpacked in Yosemite and Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, while hiking in many states and in some other parts of the world. We also recently did a road trip from Ohio to the Mighty Five in Utah with our 2019 Subaru Forester Sport with a Roofnest RTT. 

Outside of enjoying nature I am a technical instructor for an industrial company and enjoy wrenching on cars wether it is regular maintenance or those aftermarket goodies. 

Hope to see some people on the trails in Ohio or around the United States!

4 Replies

Hi @SubaruSteve - Welcome to the community! Thank you so much for sharing about the activities you love doing. The story about what your professor taught you in Cuyahoga Valley National Park is incredible and it's great to hear it had such an impact on your life in the outdoors.