cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Hello from MD, but heading Southwest!

Hello! I'm a beginner hiker; grew up in NJ and currently living in MD. I joined because I'm learning more about this community and really just love getting outside on weekends, getting healthier, and trying to get away from my super hectic workplace (in healthcare...enough said). Right now I'm focusing on getting advice and hearing stories about hiking in the US Southwest---I'm planning a trip to New Mexico (for when travel advisories and public health allows) and would love to learn more about what it's like to hike in that part of the country, particularly in the fall around October or November. I'm looking forward to chatting with and learning from everyone!

Labels (3)
13 Replies

Former Southwesterner now living in California.  SW is wonderful country.  Elevation determines climate, so you can find optimum conditions year round - low in the winter, high in the summer.

humidity is generally lower, so there are greater diurnal swings in temperature.  Plan on carrying, and consuming more water.

Favorite areas in New Mexico - Gila Wilderness, Pecos Wilderness, Bandalier National monument, and lots more, depending on your preferences.  Plenty to see in the adjacent states....

Superusers do not speak on behalf of REI and may have received
one or more gifts or other benefits from the co-op.

Thanks! So layers are best I guess for a trip like this. Folks keep telling me it will be colder than I would expect, as someone from the Northeast anyway...

0 Likes

@agraciouspearl 

Welcome to the community!