cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Re: Tick tips and should I be afraid?

Hello, I'm brand new to hiking (Wisconsin) and have found way too many ticks so far. Have been using deet spray but planning on switching to picaridin lotion to put on top of my mineral sunscreen after hearing that deet can damage gear. I use an insect repelling neck buff as well. I'm also showering and checking for ticks after hiking.

Found a tick on my neck this morning despite multiple showers since hiking on Sunday (it's now Tuesday). Partner thinks maybe it came from our clothes in the hamper and found me at night. Our gear (backpack and such) and boots are kept in another room. Boots and trekking pole rubber tips get washed after hiking. I plan on buying permethirin spray for boots, gear and clothes for further prevention.

Years ago while camping, I got a bull's eye rash after a tick bite and I needed immediate antibiotics so finding all these ticks is really getting to me. Now for some questions: Should I not worry when I find a tick unless I show symptoms of a tick borne illness? I have pet rats who like to cuddle, do I need to be worried about us bringing ticks into the home that might get onto them? I also get pretty serious sun burns due to mild sunlight sensitivity and I'm wondering if I can put the picaridin lotion on top of my mineral sunscreen if I wait a while for the sunscreen to set in? I reapply sunscreen every 2 hours. Do I also need to reapply picaridin lotion after that?

Thanks in advance for any advice or encouragement. I'm also a disabled hiker living with widespread chronic pain among other health issues. So I'm trying to find ways to cope with any obstacles! Take care, all.

Labels (2)
7 Replies