cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
We are currently experiencing issues with logging in and staying logged in, most often with Chrome, We're sorry and are working hard on resolution.
Highlighted

Suggestions for a first hike in CO without steep ledges (or suggestions for getting over the fear)?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Colorado and hiking in general. I'm a bigger guy but can easily hike 3 or 4 miles, however I tend to freak out on trails that have steep edges on the sides so I've been unable to finish many that I've tried. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get over this fear or a place that doesn't have these sheer ledges? 

12 Replies
Highlighted

I agree with you!  I was getting ready to post about Mt. Falcon and Waterton Canyon when yours came in.  Evergreen Mountain and Bergen Peak would also be good choices, I believe.  I really like Lost Creek Wilderness, too.  Cherry Creek Reservoir, Aurora Reservoir, and Chatfield Reservoir are all good.  Paved trails in all three, but opportunities to explore, too.  And the fishing is a bonus!😁

0 Likes
Highlighted