cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Advice on choosing a women’s hiking boot

I am a bit new to hiking although I am an outdoor enthusiast and have stayed fit playing sports. As I’m in my mid-50s, I want a hiking boot that is lightweight, breathable, and has good arch support. I would love any experienced suggestions.

Thank you.

0 Likes
1 Reply

@Linda1 thanks so much for reaching out! These kinds of questions are some of our favorites to get to help with! We have a few important questions before we can make helpful recommendations and because fit matters so much for footwear, we'd highly recommend setting up a free virtual outfitting appointment for an opportunity to chat with one of our employees about your specific feet! Please know that our appointments are booking quickly right now; we are adding additional appointments each evening for the following 48 hours, so you can always check back if all appointments seem taken.

So, with that said, we have a few really important details we'll need to know to make good recommendations:

• Sounds like breathability is important. Are you also interested a the shoe/boot being waterproof? Do you live in a wet/cold or dry/hot climate?
  • Are you set on a hiking boot or are you open to considering a hiking shoe? Here's an article that may help you decide between the two...
  • How many miles/hours do you plan to hike (on average) each time, and will you be carrying a backpack with any substantial amount of weight?
  • Finally, it will be important to know, ahead of time, that most hiking boots/shoes do not come with significant arch support (b/c many feet don't require it) so often folks who need arch support will add an after-market insole to gain the support they need.