cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Recommendations for a sleeping pad: what size should I get?

Hello and a good day you!  I was just curious about the size of a sleeping pad one should purchase.  Is it a good idea to go wider than your sleeping bag or does it matter at all?  I was consider getting on that is 30 inches wide as opposed to 25 inches wide even though my sleeping bag is not that wide.  I am new to all of this. Please share any ideas or suggestions you may have.  Thank you and have a great day!

3 Replies

@Lanzastar  Is this pad for car camping or backpacking?  If for backpacking, you want as small and light as possible.  For car camping, weight is not as important, but excessive bulkiness should be avoided.

I have never needed a pad wider than my bag, but your mileage may vary.  Still, I don't think the wider pad is necessary.  The R value of your pad is probably much more important.

Superusers do not speak on behalf of REI and may have received
one or more gifts or other benefits from the co-op.

@Lanzastar If you are car camping then you can take anything you want...there are all kinds of cots and mattresses.