cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Outdoor adventure goals, plans, and dreams for 2021.

Happy New Year everyone!

While it is a bit cliché at the new year to talk about our 'resolutions' (who else is losing weight and getting in shape this year?!), I do believe that it is helpful to share your goals with a community in order to help bring them to life. The support you find when sharing your goals can sometimes be the difference between achieving them and pushing them to the back burner (again) for the next year.

It is in that spirit of support and camaraderie that I ask: What are your plans, goals, and dreams for outdoor adventure in 2021? Big or small, from expert level to complete beginner, let's hear about what you hope to accomplish so we can inspire and support each other to get outside more in 2021!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.
48 Replies

I suppose one of my goals should be to not be the first response on my own posts...but I digress.

Here are a couple of goals I'm hoping for in 2021:

1. Spend 30 nights sleeping outside.
  2. Introduce my kids, (8 and 5) to backpacking and make it fun enough they want to do it again.
  3. Return to my mountaineering days with a summit attempt of Mt. Adams, 12,276'.
  4. Complete two of three bikepacking trips: The Cascade Skyline, Mount St. Helens Epic, The Olympic Adventure Route.
  5. Convince someone to do the Wonderland Trail around Mt. Rainier with me.

What are you hoping/planning for this year?

@REI-JohnJ what a great post! And thank you @REI-CarterC for tagging me!