cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

new to using a compass - declination?

I am new to using a compass and thought I had it figured but now I'm not so sure. I watched the "How to use a compass" video on REI. I bought a new compass. I set the declination to coincide with the map I'm using. 

Then I took a bearing from point A to B with the new compass. After that I took a bearing for the same points on the same map. This time I used an older compass I have that has no declination markings on it. 

The bearing was 232º for both of them. Am I missing something? If the bearings are the same, why do I need to set declination?

Thanks.

0 Likes
5 Replies

So, not sure exactly what was being done there, but, just keep in mind that the top of the map points to true north, i.e. the North Pole, the top of the ‘globe’, and , once upon a time the earth’s magnetic pole, however, the magnetic pole is/has moved, and is still moving, meaning the compass no longer points to true north , aligning a map bearing with the compass bearing. The magnetic pole is pulling the compass needle away from the map bearing. The declination is the amount of pull off center, in degrees, and this ‘correction’ realigns the compass bearing with map bearing, or something like that 

REI Member Since 1979 YouTube.com/philreedshikes
0 Likes