Hi everyone! My name is Sophie, and I just joined the Co-op. I will be attending Lincoln Memorial University's College of Veterinary Medicine as a first-year this upcoming fall. My boyfriend, who lives in Colorado, has helped my love for the outdoors flourish over the past 5 years. I love the outdoors, hiking, paddling/kayaking, horseback riding, and general fitness. I would love to learn how to properly camp and learn how to fish since I will be close to a national park. Since I am a student, I am on a tight budget. If anyone has any product recommendations that aren't outrageously expensive or any tips/tricks, please comment below! Thanks in advance.

@sophiec15 

Welcome to the community and to the co-op!

You're in a great part of the country to get outside, we have a few folks on here from Tennessee, we encourage you to take a look at the Tennessee board and join the conversations happening there. In regards to your quest for tips and tricks for getting into camping and the outdoors on a budget, we encourage you to take a look at our Used Gear website, or plan a visit to your local REI store during one of their garage sales or to check out their rental offerings.

While it can be expensive, quality outdoor gear can last you many years. You'll find lots of folks here in the community with great advice on what has worked for them in the past!

Hopefully this helps!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.
0 Likes

Hi @sophiec15 and welcome.

Congrats on your upcoming educational journey!