Hi I am a beginner hiker and am having a difficult time finding a backpack to fit.  I am tall, 5'8", but have a short torso, 15 1/2" and ample bosom 38".  I have tried on at least 25 packs at my local outfitters and "settled" with the Osprey Renn 65, though I am going to return it because the shoulder straps still sit above my shoulders and dig into the sides of my breasts.  Any advice on steering my toward a pack that might work?

0 Likes

First,  what is that pack for and how much total weight and bulk do you anticipate carrying in it.

Your height is not that important...your torso length and hip measurements are what matter.

With the hip belt around you hip bones so it rests on the crest,  it should wrap around to the front of hip bones supporting the pack.  The torso length should then allow you to adjust the shoulder straps so they wrap over your shoulders.  You should loosen any load lifters and other stabilizer first before making these adjustments.

As to what pack...assuming this is for backpacking the Gregory Deva 60 and 70 come in your size.  I have a older men's version (Baltoro 70) of this pack and it works very well.

XS  = torso length 14-16 inches and has swappable  belt and shoulder straps for a more custom fit.  It would be best to get fitted and REI can swap out those parts if you need a different size belt fex.

The only caveat with that pack is that it is heavy and fairly stiff...designed to carry a heavier loads...good if you starting out with cheaper heavier bulky gear.  Less good if your gear is refined and curated to minimize  weight and bulk.   However it may be a good place to start if you are hard to fit.

https://www.rei.com/product/125757/gregory-deva-60-pack-womens

https://www.rei.com/product/123206/gregory-deva-70-pack-womens

Osprey also offer packs with custom fitting.  There may be others but without know what kind of pack you are looking for its a bit pointless to make further suggestions.

0 Likes