Hey y'all, so I'm just getting into backpacking and wanted to test out my (new and first) camp stove before I needed it for realsies. Decided I'd make ramen and got to it. Put the pot on, lit the stove, and sprinkled in the flavor packet. Did not anticipate it boiling as quick as it did and boiled over a small amount.

I drained the liquid that pooled inside the holes above the valve and left it to dry out but I'm worried that the salt and sugar in the water will compromise the stove. Does anyone have any advice? I saw someone on Reddit mention rubbing alcohol and compressed air to get out soup, but I was wary of acting on a singular piece of advice. Thanks y'all.

0 Likes

I would assemble the stove, after getting it clean of any debris that might be evident, and then light it carefully.  Observe the result.  You might have a varied color flame as the salt and sugar burn off, but I doubt there will be any significant damage.  

I have never experienced the problem you describe, but I am sure goo has been spilled on stoves and gas jets in the past.  Are there any words of caution in the owners manual?  If this were to be  significant issue, I would think there would be....

Superusers do not speak on behalf of REI and may have received
one or more gifts or other benefits from the co-op.

There isn't much in terms of debris but I can definitely smell the burn-off as it is lit. Should I do a few burns until it doesn't smell anymore?

I didn't see anything in the owner's manual about it, nor on the company website. I know sending it in for repairs will get it cleaned but I was hoping I didn't goof too hard on my first try.

0 Likes

If it lit fairly normally, no mushroom shaped clouds or the like, I would just go ahead and use it....