Some context, I'm an older, larger, grump guy :).   I'm relatively new to backpacking and feel like my learning has been like drinking from a fire hose.  I just had my first hammock camping experience this weekend and thought I'd share, in case anyone else is doing the research that I was doing months ago and may benefit from my adventure.  I'm relatively familiar with tent camping but mostly car camping with a tent.  I've done a few backpacking trips now with a tent and feel pretty comfortable with the essentials (food, shelter, water, navigation, etc.) but this was my first time with a hammock.  This will be kindof a stream of thought post (so forgive me) and it can't be said enough that a) I'm new to this and b) don't trust anything that I say unless you've verified it for yourself.  Disclaimers out of the way, here we go.

About the trip.

My trip was to the Gahuti Trail in Fort Mountain, GA.  It's an 8+/- mile trail around the mountain that's got some good terrain and beautiful views and bears (I saw a sow with 3 cubs, VERY cool).  I decided to camp in back country site #2, about 3 miles in from the east side of the trail and then just continue through the following day.  Heavy rain was in the forecast, so I didn't want to be too far out in case I really screwed up going out with a tarp.

Key takeaways

• Where the heck do I put my stuff?  So, this one was the first thing to really stand out.  When I got to the campsite, I hung my pack on a tree, strung up my food bag, set up my tarp, setup my hammock and then sat on my hammock to enjoy what would be my livingroom for the evening.  I then started to take out my sleeping bag and pillow (don't judge 🙂 ) so that I could get to my clothes bag to get out of my sweaty hiking clothes and into my comfy camp clothes as soon as I had gotten camp squared away (firewood).  I quickly realized that, unlike a tent, a hammock only has one place to put stuff and that's where my butt was sitting on it.