cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

My hands go numb while riding my City 2.1 REI bike

Any suggestions?  It only takes about 15 min before the right hand starts to go numb and my fingers tingle. This never happened on my old Trek road bike.  

I have had the bike for 350 miles and it is becoming more and more annoying.

Help!!

0 Likes
3 Replies

I am no expert - however, I can tell you what helped me.  I have two bikes - a traditional, fast road bike, and I also have a "hybrid" bike - very similar to a city bike.  On the hybrid bike I upgraded to Ergon GP3 grips and that has really helped a lot.

Frequently change your hand position while riding (the Ergon GP3's will help you discover new hand positions).  Sometimes I will securely hold onto the handlebar with one hand, straighten my back so it's almost vertical, and take my other hand off the grip - to give the other hand a rest.  While riding like that (one hand securely on the grip, back almost vertical) I perform the following exercise (see image below) because your blood flow is getting blocked and this exercise can help with that. (no, I do not earn a living as an artist - ha)

reducing hand numbness, 01.jpg

I ride road bikes with drop bars and never get tingly hands falling asleep. You might try a bike fit, or discuss this problem with your bicycle mechanic.  Numb/tingly hands is a common discussed bicycle fit problem if you do a google search. 

I recently purchased a single speed electric bicycle that had flat bar mountain bike style handlebars, and rediscovered the single arm, hand position with the upright riding position my body has never liked.