cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
REI is actively reviewing its policies and procedures per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's new guidance for COVID-19.
As we have since the start of the pandemic, we’ll continue to prioritize the health and safety of our employees, customers and communities.

Just got a new bike! Looking for any and all tips and advice.

Hello! I am new to this page and ready to get back into cycling!! I just bought the CTY 1.1 and I am ready to learn all the tips/tricks of getting started with my bike and maintaining it as well! Please share anything and everything you know about it! 

Labels (1)
14 Replies

@egus0422 - Ah! I just love that new-bike smell!

Congratulations!

Get a tire repair kit together and learn how to use it. This will keep you riding even if you get a puncture (like I did yesterday). 🚴

Also, get a good floor pump to keep your tires properly inflated.

And put some lube on your chain every now and then - more if you live in a dusty place. Your local bike shop can get you set up with the right stuff.

And wear that new bike out!

Superusers do not speak on behalf of REI and may have received
one or more gifts or other benefits from the co-op.

@egus0422 

I just wanted to circle back with you and see how your cycling is going! When I was first getting into riding bikes, a friend of mine recommended a multi-tool like the crankbrothers M19 Multi-Tool. I still have it to this day. Between that multi-tool, a patch kit, a pump, and some tire levers, and I can get myself out of most situations and back on the road/trail in good enough shape to get home safely. Once you have the kid you need, you'll definitely want to make sure you know how to get your tire off and back on the rim again. It's a simple enough process to think through, however, you don't want to be learning how to do it on the side of the road, miles from home, as the sun is going down.