cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Getting back on the horse.

So, I have always loved bicycling.  As a kid, I used to ride a bike for hours, and was always enamored by that sense of freedom that comes with it.  I eventually outgrew my bike, and my family wasn't exactly in a financial place or desire to replace it.  As an adult, I bought my own first real bike in my 30s.  It was a Trek Fx 7.3.  I used it as a commuter bike around campus (I went to college as an adult) and as I was a student-teacher- no more than a few miles at a time.  During a commute home, I was going through a light, glanced up just to make sure I had plenty of time, glanced down, and a car was turning into my lane.  I tried to stop.  Couldn't.  I ended up flipping over the handlebars and landing on my head.  I of course did not have a helmet on.  I had a concussion (couldn't actually remember the letters of the alphabet for a few days without really concentrating on it).  To add insult to injury, I had no insurance- health or otherwise and the police said I was as at fault as the driver who turned left into my lane, despite me having a green light.  I never road the bike in town again.  It has sat for 9 years.  I am now going to try to get back on it.  I live on a loose gravel road and have bought new tires for the road, but I do want to get back into going on longer rides.  So, I have a helmet and bike shorts.  I have a bike.  I have new tires.  Outside of courage, what else do I need to have?  Any advice for a zaftig newbie would be appreciated.

4 Replies

I'd say you're set to go. You might want to pick up a tire pump and repair kit for flats, however. Other than that, you'll know what you need as you go along.