cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Re: CTY 1.1 Step through - replacing parts

Is there somewhere I can find the exact specifications for everything that comes on the CTY 1.1 step-through bicycle? I would like to replace the stem and handlebars, and eventually the tires. It'd really help if I had all of that information in one place so I know what to get so it'll fit my bike. I don't live near an REI, my bikes is my main mode of transportation. I'm a newbie to bikes and cycling so any tips will help. Thanks!

0 Likes
4 Replies

In terms of something fitting in the sense of physically attaching to the bike, I don't think you have much to worry about. In fact, for the stem and bars, you may not even want an exact match to what you've got already, as playing around with those can be a great way to customize the feeling, handling, and comfort of the bike.

Where the stem attaches to the steerer tube should be a very standard 1 1/8" and is often not even specified on product pages. On the other side of the stem, you just need the diameters of the stem and bars to match, so a 31.8mm stem with 31.8mm bars for example. If you replace both together, you can choose whatever size you want as long as they're the same. They'll both also have various angles to them (on the bars they may be referred to as upsweep and backsweep), the bars will have a width and rise, and the stem will have a length. While all these numbers will change the ride feel of the bike in various small ways, they don't factor into compatibility. Normally these numbers should all be printed somewhere on the components themselves, but otherwise you can always just take a ruler/caliper and/or protractor and measure them directly.