cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
We are currently experiencing issues with logging in and staying logged in, most often with Chrome, We're sorry and are working hard on resolution.
Highlighted

Bike Gears Question: Pushing bikes' limit or need for chain fix?

I am a newbie in cycling. Have been cycling for a month now. I have a hybrid bike with 2 gears on the front and 8 gears on the back. The track I ride on is a flat track. I normally ride on 6th smallest gear on the rear. However, when I switch to 7th gear the chain starts making sound and the ride becomes extra hard (as it should with higher gear). Question is am I pushing the limit on the bike or need to get the chain fixed for a better ride?

Thanks!

0 Likes
2 Replies
Highlighted

@sgona2008 Hard to say based on the information you've got, and it may depend exactly on where the sound is coming from. Here are some scenarios, but it could be multiple of them at the same time, or something else entirely.

Option 1: Cross-chaining

Does this happen when you're in the smaller/easier front chainring but not when in the bigger ring? If so, it could be cross-chaining, where the chain makes an extreme angle from being all the way inboard up front to being outboard in back. Generally not a recommended gear combination. In this case, the sound is probably from the chain rubbing on the outside edge of the front derailleur cage. You may be able to reduce the sound if your front gears have a "trim" feature, but that's mostly seen on road bikes not hybrids, otherwise there's not a lot to be done mechanically, just move up to the bigger ring on front when you're in the harder gears in back. Yes, this makes it a harder gear, but there is some overlap: Instead of a 1/7 combination, a 2/6 combination should have a similar gear ratio. The middle gears like 3-6 should have enough lee-way to use either front ring.

Option 2: Limit screw