cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Re: How do I inflate an REI sleeping pad?

I inherited two sleep pads and I am a novice to camping. How do I inflate the REI sleeping pad? It has an valve that says ‘open’ ‘close’

thank you

0 Likes
2 Replies

@AZ Thanks for reaching out!

There are two main types of inflatable sleeping pads: self-inflating and non-self-inflating. If you have a self-inflating sleeping pad, one way to tell is by pinching the pad and feeling for a layer of foam inside the pad. If there is foam inside, simply open the valve and let the pad sit for a while. The foam has a memory and will expand slowly, drawing air into the pad through the valve. If the foam pad has been stored deflated and rolled up for a long time, the foam is likely compressed and may not expand quickly. You can speed up the process by blowing into the open valve to inflate the sleeping pad. If you have a self-inflating sleeping pad, the ideal way to store them is flat, semi-inflated with the valve open. It will allow the foam to retain its memory so when you arrive at a campsite and open the valve, the pad inflates fairly rapidly.