cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

UltraLight Backpacker Gear Advice

Hey folks,
I’m a full-time photographer/videographer and avid camper and outdoorsman. Recently I’ve been working hard (seriously, you wouldn’t believe the hours I’ve put into this) to combine the two having seen some new innovations in ultralight gear and photography backpacks. The bag I am looking at is the MindShift Rotation 50L+ which is essentially a bag with a 10L camera insert and 40L of volume with a cinch top that can add an additional 6L and compressible top pocket like traditional backpacking bags. It also has a ton of big shovel pockets, large stash pockets, daisy chains, and all over sorts of extremely clever space saving features…

Okay, so.
Now that you have an idea of the bag and volume I am looking to be using, here is my gear list:
- Nemo Dagger 2P with footprint
- EE 850D 0* Convert Quilt
- Nemo Tensor Sleeping Pad
- Nemo Fillo Elite Luxury Pillow
- 3L Reservoir (bag has 2 places to store it)
- Sawyer Squeeze Water Filter System
- Down Sweater Vest
- Rain Jacket
- Rain Paints
- Headlamp
- MSR PocketRocket Deluxe Stoce + Fuel Can
- 750ml titanium pot with lid

… and of course my camera gear in the 10L compartment and your other essentials and odds and ends… Most of the gear I listed, such as the down vest and jacket, is compressible and packs into its own pocket, and some of the items such as the tent and/or quilt/sleeping pad can be carried on the outside of the bag using the daisy chains or compression straps…

Okay, so now that you have a full picture of what my load is, how practical/realistic do you think it is? Keep in my the camera gear essentially doubles the weight, or comes close

0 Likes
2 Replies