cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Suggestions for Vetting Your Backpacking Equipment

I'm new to backpacking and am trying to supplement some of my equipment (tents, sleeping bags, etc.) at a price that's not going to break me.  When I look at your sales and search for things, I notice that many do not have any ratings associated with them and that many are closeouts, too, meaning they weren't great sellers (to my way of thinking).  The lack of ratings gives me pause and I usually decide that no purchase is better than  getting something I haven't vetted well enough.  Any suggestions, other than trekking 50 miles to visit a store?

0 Likes
6 Replies

Hi @HudsonRaider64 - Thanks for reaching out, though we’re sorry it’s because of a lack of ratings available for the products you’re looking at. We’re glad to hear you are getting into backpacking!

Many of our products go to closeout pricing because there is a newer version now available, not because they weren’t great sellers. With that, it makes great sense that you’d want to vet items before making big purchases. Are you looking at any pieces in particular that you’d like feedback on? Our community members have experience with a large variety of backpacking equipment and would hopefully be able to weigh in on specific items.

Additionally, you could schedule a free virtual outfitting appointment to meet one-on-one with an REI employee to go through your questions without having to make a trip to the store.

Thanks again for bringing your question to the community. Hopefully this helps!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.
0 Likes