cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Seeking Advice - Finally need to upgrade my Tent from the original Quarter Dome

Hi all-

I'm in the depths of my research for a new ultralight (or close to) backpacking tent.  I've been using the Quarter Dome since 2012 and it's at end of life.  I should note that most of my activities revolve around kayak camping (with some backpacking), so weight isn't as much of an issue as durability and weather toughness.  I'm looking for a mid-range to high end 2P tent.  I'm searching in the $400-$550 range, so I've narrowed my search to these products 

-MSR Hubba Hubba

-Nemo Dagger (was the front contender but I can't find an available footprint)

-Big Agnes Copper Spur

-Sea to Summit Telos (which is currently leading the pack, but I'll have to wait until release in May with a looming trip in mid-June)

Any advice on any of these or others would be hugely appreciated.  Thank you all

Keep Calm and Paddle On
Labels (2)
0 Likes
3 Replies

I don't own those tents...I had a BA CS UL2 gen 1 and now use a BA TW UL2..primarily backpacking both of which I thought were excellent for their purpose.

However in my opinion...

Of the 4,  I would say the MSR Hubba Hubba NX2 is the most durable and also probably best in weather.  It has a reputation as a solid tent.   It uses the heaviest weight fabrics (30 denier floor) If you don't care about weight then probably the one I would choose for your stated purpose.  (not fond of the color personally).  The fabrics used on the other tents are all very thin.