cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Plus size gear for long backpacking trip

Hello,

This is my first time doing a trip and I wanted to know for the pct for all seasons what's the best plus size gear you ladies have used? Right now I'm suffering from plantar fasciitis which i hope I can heal before hand. But clothes, trekking poles, anything you can think of that works for you plus size ladies would help me so much!!!

3 Replies

Wow @Lexi805 what an exciting adventure! As a plus size gal myself, I hope I can help point you in the right direction initially. I’ve never done anything as ambitious as the PCT but I can let you know what a few essentials are that could be helpful. 

I’ll start with rainwear. I love the Talusphere Rain Pants by REI Co-op brands. I have linked the women’s here but I actually initially bought the men’s version as it fit me a bit better. The best thing about them is they provide a little stretch which is great for mobility and comfort. 

If you’re looking for a fleece layer, my favorite option is the REI Hyperaxis Pant and there is a matching jacket that I am obsessed with. 

Lastly, you can’t go wrong with some leggings even on trail! I haven’t tried them out yet, but I’m excited about the Flash Hybrid Tights by Co-op Brands.

I hope this gets you started and some other folks can chime in! Have an incredible trip and thank you for reaching out to the Community!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.
0 Likes

@REI-AlyS - Wow thank you so much! I will look into these!!