cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Pack Base Weight - What am I doing wrong?

I am fairly new to backpacking, just getting back into it after several years since my last trip. I'm prepping for a five day moderate weather trip on the BMT, and my pack base weight is at 27 pounds. I've included a list below of what I've packed... just want to validate that I'm not doing anything ridiculously wrong and that this isn't an absurd weight. I don't plan to carry more than a liter of water at a time considering the multiple sources on my route, and I plan to be at around 1.75 pounds of food per day, so I expect my full weight to be around 37-38 pounds, which from what I can gather is on the higher end of where I should aspire to be. Appreciative of anyone that can weigh in for a bit of a "sanity check" based on my list . Let me know if you think anything I am carrying is just a completely noob mistake. Note that I have removed everything from stuff sacks unless otherwise noted below...

Pack - Osprey AG65

Contents:

Tent, poles, fly, footprint, stakes (no stuff sack)

Repair kit - 2 cord locks, 1 buckle, multi-tool, 10 meters MSR ultra-light cord, coreless duct tape (.4 oz), 1 small tent pole repair sleeve

30 degree bag and inflatable pad (in compression stuff sack)

Nalgene

Sawyer squeeze filter and platypus bag

First aid - band aids, moleskin, ankle wrap, bandage, neosporin, tylenol

Hygiene - toothbrush, travel toothpaste, travel bug spray, travel sunscreen, chapstick

Single burner backpacking stove, 100g fuel, titanium spork, 2 cup pot

Clothes that won't be on my body - 1 extra pair of wool socks, synth. long underwear, long sleeve synthetic, lightweight rain jacket (few ounces), down puffy jacket will be on and off