cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Low-tech gear

I’ve been backpacking for well over 50 years and looking forward to my Big 7-Oh season next year.  Over that time backpacking gear has gone high-tech but not always for the better.   My first stove was a Trangia that burns denatured alcohol.   Simple (no moving parts), lightweight, cheap, bombproof and it doesn’t burn fossil fuels.   I have tried high-tech fossil fuels stoves, Optimus, Peak-1 but for the last 25 years have gone back to the Trangia.   I’ll never burn fossil fuels in the backcountry again!

I often camp in places such as mountaintops, so carrying and storage of water is of the utmost importance to me.   I still use what REI used to sell as the “watersack” -  a plastic bladder covered with a nylon shell and simple stopper/spigot – under 5 oz.   Unfortunately, REI no longer sells the watersack – and neither does anyone else!     Instead for water storage you have to buy an expensive, heavy, high-tech alternative with a fancy name, i.e. Dromedary bag, etc.

These two items indicate how backpacking has changed.   Instead of simple, cheap but highly effective gear like the Trangia stove and watersack, you now have all this expensive high-tech gear.    Why would you sell a watersack for $5 when you can sell something for 5 or more times that?   Same for the stove, it’s now all about making money for the corporations, not getting out.

For All Things Wild,

Ed Lytwak

3 Replies

Greetings Ed,

Thanks for checking in with us!