cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
REI is actively reviewing its policies and procedures per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's new guidance for COVID-19.
As we have since the start of the pandemic, we’ll continue to prioritize the health and safety of our employees, customers and communities.

Looking for a water purifier for back packing, does anyone have experience with a Grayl Geopress?

I am looking For a water purifier. I am new to backpacking. I have been looking at the Grayl Geopress, but as I shop in places that specialize in hiking equip and talk to some people who I know to have extensive experience in hiking, have never heard of Grayl. Is that because it is more of an international product and not just a back packing item? What is my best option as a water purifier for light back packing?I would like to do some longer hikes, so I want to invest in decent equipment but it can be confusing.

0 Likes
13 Replies

Hey @beckyt!

Thanks for reaching out! We're excited to hear you're getting in to backpacking. I haven't used the Grayl Geopress personally, but I've seen it used and it is pretty slick. They're a relatively new company to REI (just a couple of years) so that may be why you've never heard of them. The technology seems to work great though, it's a cool way to make your water potable.

A quick question: were you looking specifically for a water purifier, or were you looking for a water filter? A lot of folks think they need a purifier but actually really only need a filter, and the difference can save you a good amount of money if you don't actually need a purifier. Take a look at this Expert Advice article, How to choose a water filter or purifier, it's got a lot of really good info. Then come back an ask any questions you may have, we'll be ready!

Hopefully this helps, thanks!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.