cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Hip Belt & Stomach Issues

I'm a bit new at backpacking, but thrice I've had some major acid reflux /water brash issues that have kept me up for hours at camp after a day of backpacking, and have even led to vomiting and dry heaving. I only very rarely have these kinds of kinds of issues off-trail (90% of the time after alcohol, which is infrequent off-trail and avoided on-trail), and never anywhere near this severe (a little discomfort vs. real pain!). I don't really eat worse on the trail than at home, and usually have far less caffeine than IRL. This can happen even before I lay down, which I try to do only a couple hours after eating, and antacids haven't really help at all (unlike my rare and mild off-trail issues).

The only thing I can think of to explain it is that having the hip belt compress my stomach for hours is messes with my esophageal sphincter. Obviously lightening my load, which is in the heavier side of the "lightweight" category, might help, as would some lifestyle changes.. I'm on it, if slowly.

I was wondering if folks had any other suggestions--particularly anything I should consider when on the market for a new (but not excessively pricey) backpack? Would it make sense, for example, to try to get it fit as if I had a longer torso so that it would ride lower, or would that not take any weight off my shoulders/cause other problems?

Sorry - TMI!

1 Reply