cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Membership now as great as the outdoors!
Already a member? Take a look at the Co-op Members section of the community.
Ready to join? Explore all of the benefits here.

Freelance writer doing story on M.R.E.s vs Backpacking Meals

Hi all! I'm a freelance writer for The Takeout, and I'm writing about the differences between M.R.E.s and backpacking meals.

I am aware of some of the obvious distinctions, e.g. that backpacking meals generally require water to prepare and thus add less weight to your load, and it seems like the actual experience of eating backpacking meals is more -- well, pleasant than that of eating M.R.E.s. However, I'd love to speak to some frequent backpackers who have brought one or both of these types of meals on trips, and find out which you prefer (and why). 

Please let me know!

-Rachel 

Labels (1)
0 Likes
11 Replies

Hopefully, some folks will chime in.  I did not serve in the military.  I have had some MREs not usually during a backpacking trip.  They are noted as weighing a bit more.  I think the weight of an individual MRE is 1.125 - 1.625 pounds.  With most backpacking meals being freeze-dried (not dehydrated), they weigh less as there is no water in the meal itself.  So, that (weight) would be one thing that would favor the backpacking meal.

MREs just like other backpacking meals are always being developed and improved (or at least intended to be improved).

As for the taste, I think you will find many options on that.  I didn't have any issues with the few MREs that I have had.  And, I have not had too many backpacking meals that I didn't care for either.  Although there are a lot of choices in the backpacking meals group.

Again, hopefully, others that have had much more experience with these meals will chime in.

Enjoy

Hi John -