cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Re: Beginner hiking gear

I have been hiking for a few years but nothing really serious. My kids recently moved in with their dad which leaves me time to enjoy hiking camping etc. I want to hike the AT but want to make sure that I am prepared. Suggestions??

23 Replies

@Feisty-Muffin Thanks for the question!

You've gotten some really good information here so I'm not going to add on there. I just wanted to 1) let you know that I love your username and 2) offer some encouragement in your journey! Even the most seasoned of us were beginners at one point and we all had a lot to learn. This community is full of folks who are here to support you in your goal of hiking the AT and help you get the answers you need. I'm sure that you'll soon be weighing in on posts with your own expertise!

Welcome!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.
0 Likes

Yep, outdoor people are generally happy to share (when they can). I'm only active right now because I'm in town, I normally hit the trail for weeks at a time (3 weeks starting Friday, my version of "social distancing"!).

Hiking the 2000+ mile AT takes around 5 months and I think most NOBO people start in March or April so If you are thinking of hiking it this year you will probably need a crash course.

You will also need a budget ...roughly it takes about $5000 to hike the AT or about $1000 a month...and have your personal affairs under control. Having health insurance is definitely recommended.

Start here...

https://www.appalachiantrail.org/