cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Beginner hiking gear

I have been hiking for a few years but nothing really serious. My kids recently moved in with their dad which leaves me time to enjoy hiking camping etc. I want to hike the AT but want to make sure that I am prepared. Suggestions??

23 Replies

The first question to be asked is always, "What type of hiking are you interested in?" There is day hiking, distance hiking, wilderness hiking and bushwhacking, the approach and gear requirements are different for each. If you're interested in the AT, that's distance hiking.

Of the four types of hiking, despite the occasional deaths in this group, distance hiking is statistically speaking the safest. Some of the markers of this type of hiking (regarding gear) is light/ultralight "base weight." Base weight is the weight of your pack minus consumables (typically food and water). Up to 10-15 pounds is usually considered ultralight.

Another marker is distance hiking often has a prominent social component. So be prepared to meet lots of people and different personality types. Also, distance hikers are often going into town to "resupply" food (and get beer, pizza, a movie, a hotel room, etc.). So, I often describe distance hiking as more akin to "touring" rather than "hiking." That said, you need to look at light/ultralight packs, sleeping systems and sheltering systems.