cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Backpacking during thunderstorm

I’m new to backpacking and my 3 day trip is calling for thunderstorms on the first day. I’m hiking up to Shuckstack near Lake Fontana,NC. The first day is 2000 feet elevation up along a ridge. Any advice is welcome. My thoughts are to hike up early and hike back out rather than camp overnight. Thoughts?

3 Replies

JM,

Interesting question. While yes, you certainly want to get up, and then off, of any pass or ridge sooner rather than later, it all depends on the weather. Under normal circumstances, you want to get up and over any elevation before mid-day. The reason for this is as the day heats up, the temperature change can lead to storms at elevation, or even, during clear skies, dry lightening. As a rule of thumb, it is best to get off the pass/ridge/ before the change in temp.

However, this is just a general rule. If you start a day in a storm, or if you can clearly see the storm coming, regardless of the time of day, it is better to stay off the mountain than get caught out in the open. 

I have only hiked a small section of the Smokies, but I have hiked many hundreds of miles in a number of mountain ranges (worldwide), and it is a non-negotiable for me that unless there is an extreme emergency, we never hike up into severe weather.