cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members! We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community, click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

A question about onX Maps and using a GPS app on your phone.

Just downloaded OnxMaps and going to be using it primarily for backpacking. I have heard that you can use GPS in Airplane Mode while in the backcountry. Is there a way to map the specific trail route I am going on and then utilizing the GPS feature within Onx to navigate the backcountry?

0 Likes
6 Replies

@Nathan1 

Thanks for bringing this question to the community!

While I have no experience with onX maps, I am a basic level user of Gaia, which is used by @Philreedshikes. Also, @Gary2  recommends the Guthook app. I'm tagging them here to see if they have some insight into what it takes to lay a route down on a map and use it when the phone is in airplane mode. @Wanderer and @CajunHiker may have some experience to share as well.

You are able to use the GPS on your phone when it's in 'airplane mode' and/or unable to receive a signal from a cell tower. You should be able, when still connected to wifi, lay a route on a map that you can then use in the field while not on wifi/cell network. You can read more about that on the onX app here. Additionally, here is a piece about creating routes on your basemap on the onX app.

Hopefully this helps, thanks!

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.
0 Likes

Thanks for your response. I guess I am wondering if you know of an app that already has the designated trail routes linked into a GPS system. So, I am looking at the Gallatin Crest Trail in Montana, and want to implement that map into a GPS, that I could use on the trail.

0 Likes

You're welcome!