cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

How do you like working for REI?

Hello!

I'm just over a year out of college and working in the corporate world which so far, I'm not a big fan of. I graduated with a Criminal Justice degree with a minor in Business Management. I'm very interested in applying to work at REI because I love what you stand for and I want to help people get outdoors more. It's such a big part of my life and I just feel like I want to share that with others and help anyway I can. I'd love to hear from some of you who are already working for REI! How do you like the work environment? Is there opportunities to move up in the company? How did you get started in the company?

Thanks in advance 🙂

4 Replies

Hey @apmallard! I've been with REI for the past nine years, and it's opened up a world of opportunity for me. I've met the best adventure partners I've ever had, and done things that I never would have done before beginning work here because these things just didn't exist in my outdoor Rolodex beforehand: ice climbing in Ouray, sea kayaking with orcas in the San Juans, mountain biking in Sedona, bike packing from DC to Pittsburgh along the C&O/GAP, etc. 

My passion is getting people into the outdoors, and I have been teaching Outdoor School classes for the past six years, both in store and out in the field. I've taught people in their 60s to ride a bike for the first time, and I've led a group of women into the woods for their first backpacking trip when the lows were in the 20s overnight. It's an amazing feeling, giving back to them what was given to me a decade ago.