cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Short AT section hike ideas?

Good morning all! I'm still fairly new to backpacking having had just gotten into it last year, but I've been wanting to check out the AT for some years now! I was planning a short hike of no more than a week with some friends just to hit a section of it, and was wondering if anyone had any ideas for places to start/end? Anything they like like small towns, nice views, etc that y'all think is worth a visit! I'm here in Texas so ideally I'd like things more on the southern end, but I'm open to any suggestions!

Also, is there transportation between towns, or what would the best way to get back to the starting location be, or does that just vary town to town? We'd most likely be road tripping up so we'd have to get back to the car somehow.

Thank y'all, and have a great day!

Labels (1)
0 Likes
5 Replies

Hello Jose.  I just took on the section from Rockfish Gap to Humpback Rocks last week. Not a long section but with plenty of varied terrain and an overnight at Paul C. Wolfe shelter.  Trail town there is Waynesboro, VA.

Find the closest trail town to your location and work from there.  In my case the closest was Waynesboro, I22 miles west of my home near Toano, Va. My first obstacle other than distance is variation in altitude, I'm at near sea level, Rockfish Gap is at 1900 feet.

Not sure where you are located. You can check for local trail clubs. The Appalachia Trail Conservancy ATC, has regional offices that can help with that too.  You can also Check out state and local parks for training and equipment shakedown trips

0 Likes

Good day Jose,