cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

AT Mileage for a Beginner

I'm just getting into hiking, been doing lots of training hikes and just completed my first warm up trail (C&O Canal Towpath).  While I'm trying to be smart about tackling the AT in sections, I'd like to first try the Maryland section and the Shenandoah NP section.   Looking for some insight on the trail, especially the elevation aspect to it.  What's a realistic mileage estimate for those sections for an older beginner?  I'm 47 yrs old and could be in better shape, which is one of the reasons why I started backpacking

7 Replies

Elevation is not a big deal in Maryland. Climbs are short, and most of the Maryland trail follows the ridgeline. In Virginia, the climbs are a little higher. Although some people manage to hike the entirety of the Maryland AT in one day, three to four days is more reasonable.

As hikers, we tend to put too much emphasis on daily mileage.  Of course, since we have "real" lives in between hikes, we do have to maintain some kind of schedule.  But there should be some flexibility built into it.  Leave some time to admire the view, or explore the abandoned homestead you'll come across.  Maybe the trail will take you through an old orchard;  you'll certainly want to take advantage of that!  The thing to remember:  are you out there to make miles, or to recharge, enjoy yourself, and have one of the experiences of your life?  Both are worthy goals.

Retired medical technologist and engineer
REI member since 1978
Superusers do not speak on behalf of REI and may have received
one or more gifts or other benefits from the co-op.