cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Welcome REI Co-op Members!
We're glad you're here. If you can't access the Co-op Members section of the community,
click here for instructions on how to join the section that's just for you.

Potential Routes for asphalt/dirt adventure ride from Reno to s.f.

Looking for route suggestions for Reno,NV to San Francisco.  I'm studying the maps but, if anybody has any routes they've ridden, I'm open to suggestions.

0 Likes
3 Replies

Hi @SSKarateMonkey13 - Thanks for reaching out. What a fun trip you're planning!

To confirm, are you talking about gravel biking or riding on a motorcycle? 

For gravel biking, I can speak to the Reno to Clearlake portion of your venture. There is a cross-state gravel route that covers 180 miles of territory east-west that I suggest looking into. The Lemon Canyon Rd section near Stampede Reservoir is an incredible stretch of road!

Hopefully some other folks in this community familiar with the area will be able to share suggestions too. @Tommy and @Vitaly - Y'all have talked about longer bike rides on the West Coast. Do you have any routes to share? 

At REI, we believe time outside is fundamental to a life well lived.
0 Likes

Thank you for the suggestion (!); sounds like a simple enough section.  As per what I'm riding, an alt-flatbar (Surly Moloko bar) rigid single-speed mountain-bike.  Idea percolating/gear tweaking for Spring '22 since riding season is toast here in Northern Nevada.